Estar caliente, calentarse, hacer calentar

These phrases have completely different meaning depending on the context. If you’re talking about a huge discussion you had with your boyfriend or girlfriend, estar caliente would express that you were (or still are) very mad about it.

In the other hand, if last night you met an awesome person, and you kissed, and you went a little further, but not as further as you had would like to, estar caliente will be used to express that you’re horny.

Now, the boyfriend/girlfriend that make you mad, the guy or girl you met and left you wanting more, those people te hicieron calentar, meaning he/she made you mad or he/she aroused you a little bit. Or not so little, actually.

Some examples:

– ¡Estoy re caliente! Organicé todo yo sola, y le pedí sólo un favor, pero ella como siempre se olvido. ¡¿Cómo no me voy a calentar?! (I’m really angry! I organized all by myself, I asked her to do only one thing, but as always she forgot about it. How not to get mad?!).

– … y estábamos ahí, tranzando, cuando me dijo que tenía que irse, que al otro día se tenía que levantar temprano. Me quedé recontra caliente. (…and we were there, kissing, when she told me she had to go, that she had to wake up really early the next morning. I was horny as hell). Note: in this case the phrase could actually mean to be mad about it, so if this pop up in a conversation you may want to inquire a little further 😉

– Este tipo siempre me hace calentar. Le dije mil veces que no use mi patio como su tacho de basura. (This guy always drives mad. I’ve told him a zillion times not to use my backyard as his own trash bin!).

– ¡No me hagas calentar…! (Don’t make me mad!) This is a very common phrase among Argentinians, usually when a discussion is increasing a little too much.

Attention!

As you probable has noticed this a word to use only in familiar conversations. If you’re trying to say to someone from work – like to your boss – that you’re very mad about something I recommend you to use enojado/a, indignado/a, furioso/a, etc.

Leave a Reply

